Oneaday? Nottoday.

I’m no motivational speaker. I’m not one for arrogance, and I have an ego the size of a pea – most of the time. I don’t tend to get on board with causes, nor do I preach very much. I’m far too unmotivated to set up any kind of group activity, and I’ve never been to a book club. But there’s one thing I’ll say for Ian: when I say I’ll do something, I’ll at the very least try my hardest do it. This blog is case in point – I only decided to join the #oneaday thing because my good chum Rich was doing it and I felt a bit left out, but now as I look at all the others taking part I’m seeing people drop like flies for one reason or another.

Probably most shocking, however, was that of the chap who set the whole thing up, who has apparently signed out of this mortal (blogging) coil with this here message. I said before, I’m no motivational speaker. This isn’t a post trying to convince people to pick up their… fingers… and get writing again. I suppose more than anything it’s a comment on my disappointment.  A lot of the people involved who have fallen by the wayside are scribes by profession, yet have seemingly found it too hard to churn out a few hundred words a day on any topic they want. This, frankly, is ludicrous. Though to be fair, if you can’t sit for ten minutes with a blank Word document and fill that page with ideas for blog entries then maybe you’re better off quitting. You should probably give up the writing gig too, as it’s evidently too hard to do a bit of work on any subject you want which should take you less than an hour to complete. Half an hour tops, really. And that includes editing a daft picture of yourself into every accompanying image.

I understand there are reasons, there are days you might be travelling, away from a computer or whatever else – and obviously this little piss about shouldn’t get in the way of real life happening. For example, I’d let you off a day if your Mum died. Only a day though. And I’m not judging or singling people out – especially as I don’t know 99 per cent of people doing it. I just find it incredibly disheartening if a bunch of writers can’t actually do – or can’t be bothered to do – what they’re supposed to be good at. I’m one of the least proactive people I know, so if I can manage it (while fitting in a trip to Sweden, visits to my girlfriend’s house in Manchester (I live in Bournemouth) and god knows what other social engagements) then so can you. Pull your finger out and get fucking writing. You’ll feel better about it in the morning.

I know this will bite me in the arse when I quit in a few weeks, but hey – I’ve outlasted a few of you. So ner.

Fuck it: I’M GOING BUKOWSKI ON YO’ ASSES.

4 Comments

Filed under Prattle

4 responses to “Oneaday? Nottoday.

  1. Jen

    Preach it to em!…..or something like that.

    This will also bite me in the ass when I mess up in a few weeks.

  2. Breaking out the big guns. Love that poem. Keep it up, you’re doing a good job. I think people may have had better luck with weeknotes, which isn’t something I’m doing but I’m enjoying reading other people’s.

    Heck, I don’t even update my blog monthly. I do have to do one a day for work, though.

  3. I have to do one a day at work, an extra one on Tuesdays and shitloads of pages for the mag. I still find writing this a release though, at the end of it.

  4. AK

    The ideas aren’t the problem – it’s the motivation. I simply no longer care, as my parting message explains. You’re confusing choice and ennui with a lack of ability. I don’t think I’ll be quitting Future just yet. Balls to One a Day.

Leave a Reply

