Commitment issues

I cannot commit. Well, that’s a bit of a lie – it’s more just something I want to say so I can have a WITTY headline. I can commit, I’m just not daring enough to start something new, to get into a new life adventure and to bring myself fresh new experiences. HILARIOUSLY, I’m talking about films and TV shows, and not – as you clearly thought – relationships! Hah! Who’da thunk it?

I have a fair few series under my belt, don’t get me wrong. I finished The Wire before most of you had even been told by the Grauniad to watch it (indeed, I listened to Brooker years before the paper starting NOT SHUTTING UP about it), I’ve been through all of Deadwood multiple times and comedy series get rinsed on a regular basis. Sunny series one was famously watched in its entirety three times in the space of a week, back in ’08.

So why do I find it so hard to put something different on? Why have I got Generation Kill sitting on my PC, still waiting? Why have I got about three dozen films that aren’t likely to be watched soon? Though admittedly I did strike Universal Soldier: Regeneration off that list the other day. Dolph! Jean-Claude! Mediocre film! And, most confusingly of all, why have I got Battlestar series four sitting waiting to be watched, when I finished watching the first three series years ago? It’s not hard to finish things, I’m clearly just a mental.

So I’ll set myself an incredibly difficult challenge: watch some things I haven’t watched before. Some things I’ve been meaning to watch. Even some things I want to watch. Crazy, I know – and difficult too. But with the help and support of my friends and family, I reckon I can get through this one.

4 Comments

Filed under Prattle

4 responses to “Commitment issues

  1. Samuel Roberts

    By Sunny, do you mean…It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia?

    If so, that makes you 10% better.

  2. Samuel Roberts

    I envy your past-watching of Deadwood. I’m too lazy to sit through it.

Leave a Reply

