The future is sterile, and so are you

I’m currently sat on a train, again, writing this – only this time I can actually post the entry onto the world wide supernet interhighway. Why? Wireless dongles, stupid. They’re like the future, distilled into slightly-cumbersome USB adapter form. Seeing as I now apparently live in the future, why don’t we discuss how things have changed in our lifetimes?

It’s not like we’ve seen the exceptional change the likes of my Grandma have – TV being invented, commercials coming to prominence, TV being ruined by commercials coming to prominence: it’s an incredible amount of change to think about, and far too hard to consider experiencing in any real way. Oh, she saw the dinosaurs go too, which must have been fun. Made going to the shops a lot safer, that much I do know.

Then there’s my parents and their generation, which was raised on endless promises of what the ‘future’ would be like: flying cars; meals in pill form; less foreigners – that kind of thing. It’s no wonder they’re such an angry generation who don’t believe in climate change when you realise how much they were promised in their youth. What do they have out of it? My Dad’s still waiting for his robot servant to be delivered, I think. That would explain the lack of movement, at least.

But I don’t think our generation falls as cleanly in the middle as you might assume – we’re far more towards the side of the grannies etc with the amount of change we’ve experienced. It was invented before I was born (I think), but I distinctly remember the internet coming to power. That has completely changed the technologically-civilised world, of that there is no arguing. Then there are other inventions of convenience that we BLAH BLAH TAKE FOR GRANTED BLAH – yes, everyone goes on about it, but they are important. The MP3 players, digital distribution and mobile dongles of today make everything so utterly bloody convenient. It’s a similar curse that particularly affects those of a game-playing persuasion: now is boring, the past is gone, all we want to see is what’s next. Bollocks to paying attention to what’s around now, we’re happy just taking that for granted, finding the smallest of faults with it and criticising it no end for whatever non-event is “wrong” with it.

It’s interesting that I write that on my tiny, easily-carryable portable computer (which can also run decent entertainment-o-trons) to post onto the internet using my DONGLE that allows me to connect to the internet wherever I am in the country (just about) and allow everyone in the world to read my worthless prattle through the WordPress site. Even at 15, I wasn’t aware this kind of thing would be possible. Hence: today I will appreciate the now, today and what we have available to us – foibles and all.

I do still want a flying car, mind you. Basically, I want to live in the future of Blade Runner. And I’m still not getting an iPhone.

4 Comments

Filed under Prattle

4 responses to “The future is sterile, and so are you

  1. Kat

    You should get an iPhone, you’d crap yourself at how amazing they are 🙂 xxx

  2. Anna

    Dön’t yøu mean døngle?

  3. Pingback: The week’s best One A Day entries « rudderless

  4. Pingback: 100th episode spectacular « worthless prattle makes the world go round

Leave a Reply

