Deeds (good ones) part II: DEEDS IN SPACE

Long time listeners may remember a post I made a while back about helping people. It’s here, if you don’t remember. Or even if you do remember, and wanted to remind yourself of how simply heroic I am. Well today we have an update; an addition to the list which will surely solidify my reputation as one of the Greatest Living Humans.

Walking back from a press event with my colleague Ash, a man was stood to the side in the street, turning in circles. I think I remember him faintly saying “help me” or something to that effect, which grabbed my attention (aside from the fact that he was spinning in circles*). I asked if he was okay, to which he responded by collapsing and having a fit. It’s a reaction I’ve had before, but normally it’s after I’ve told a satirical joke and not just when I politely ask a question of someone – hence (and this is probably down to my Dad being a copper and me inheriting his instincts) I knew something was up.

I then spent the next ten minutes or so trying to cushion the man’s head as he slammed it on the pavement, giving him something to grab onto in the shape of my hand (and, at one point, my entire leg. Admittedly I wasn’t so up for that part) and generally trying to be reassuring. Those of you who know me may well know that I’m not very good at sincerity, so the point where he started grinding his teeth was met with a cry of “ahhhh, don’t do that!” by me. Ah, the ever-calming influence. I asked two local rubberneckers to ring an ambulance then kind of stood around like a lemon while this man clawed at nothing, tried to destroy his skull and (sometimes) apologised for having a fit.

It was around this point that a fat man waddled up and immediately proclaimed to us – I shit thee not – “I’m a first-aider at work, I know what to do”. He then went on to tell us we should in fact not stop the man from cracking his skull on the pavement and instead allow him to continue doing that. It’s a good job he turned up, otherwise I would have continued to not allow the fitting chap to fracture his skull like the sick bastard I clearly am.

(Seriously though – I understand that you shouldn’t restrain a fitting person as it can cause more damage, but for fuck’s sake this bloke was smashing his head on the concrete. Well, I should say ‘trying to’, as I stopped it. Call me a renegade if you will, I just don’t play by these first-aider rules.)

Anyway, the paramedics called by the folks in the shop nearby arrived and took over. Fortunately the first-aider was still there to instruct them on how they should go about their jobs, otherwise we’d have all been in a dilly of a pickle! I gathered together my things and we were on our way back to Bournemouth.

This whole ‘giving a shit about other people’ thing is a horrible affliction, and I can only apologise to the city of London for breaking their cardinal rule of ‘Never Help Anyone’.

*Come to think of it, maybe he was just dizzy. Really dizzy.

(As a second bracketed-off section, I would like to offer my utmost disgust to the monumental cunts out there who ignored this man as he was clearly in distress and to those who just kept on walking by as I was trying to help. You are terrible, terrible human beings. How anyone – anyone – can simply stand by as others suffer is absolutely beyond me and just thinking about it now has genuinely upset me. So great, thanks world. You win again. Fuck you.)

4 Comments

Filed under Prattle

4 responses to “Deeds (good ones) part II: DEEDS IN SPACE

  1. Aaron

    I once went to help an old man who had fallen over in the middle of the Gare du Nord. He was struggling to get back up and everyone else was just walking past him, much to my disgust. As I was helping the gent to his feet, though, I noticed what everyone else must have already – he was slipping and sliding in his own shit.

    I learnt two things that day: 1 – French poo is the same as English poo; and 2 – you can’t help anyone in public without looking like a bit of an arse.

    So, well done on being a decent chap. I’m sure you looked like an arse.

    • I think I did indeed look like an arse, especially when he grabbed my leg and I panicked slightly.

      I think the initial thought was “he’s definitely trying to rape me”. He wasn’t.

  2. Pascale

    Re-reading your deeds thingy – you forgot to mention the man in hyde park that you slapped a few times while the 999 operator instructed me to tell you to put your mouth on his recently vomit filled mouth..I think i remember you declining that bit. What a hero…

    I hope you are around when I need help.

    • Hey – I got tramp sick on my hand, alright? And this was while three student nurses were stood next to you saying “we don’t know what to do” like the GREAT nurses they were.

      Even the people trained to help weren’t helping. Ah, wonderful.

Leave a Reply

