Issues

The whole One A Day thing has hit a bit of a lull for me recently, with most of my entries being even more phoned-in that normal. I can try – and probably succeed – to justify this distinct lack of quality (drunk, hungover, freelancing, girlfriend GETTING IN THE WAY etc.) but that would be taking the easy way out. I think it’s clear that I’m just flagging.

After writing entries that average about 300 words per pop (figure pulled from the top of my head, but likely to be true) it’s bound to happen. I’m running out of topics, I’m running out of new things to say and – dare I say it, especially in the wake of all my eulogising about the whole One A Day thing – I’m running out of motivation. I’m still absolutely compelled to do an entry per day, I’m committed to the experiment and I do fully intend to keep on going for the whole 253 more entries I am due to make. But there’s no denying I’m floundering. Stumbling over my own feet and unable to walk in a straight line. I’ve become the drunken vagrant of the One A Day collective.

But, just as the pissed up bum can – in theory, at least – become a functioning member of society again, I will endeavour to put myself on the road to recovery. If it involves regular series of posts, if it involves more writing about games, if it involves more insane rants about fruit – I will double my efforts and pull out something that I actually find reasonably interesting to re-read should I feel the need to do so. This is instead of how I’ve felt about my recent entries, which are tripe of the highest order.

I might even resort to some more lists. As long as they’re well-written, they still count. GALVANISED.

My computer is being a prick and not letting me put images on anything. It fucks up sometimes. I’ll leave one off this one. Just Google image search ‘oneaday’ and imagine my face cut and pasted onto the third image that pops up.

4 Comments

Filed under Prattle

4 responses to “Issues

  1. Jen

    I know that feeling well.

    I figure it’s natural in such an event but I’m hoping I’ll be re-inspired soon otherwise it’s going to be a very boring time for people who continue to read my blog!

  2. Ash

    Oooh! Oooh! Write about me!

    Although if more interesting posts are what you’re after, probably best not.

  3. Gem

    You could write about beans.

    You hardly write about beans AT ALL.

  4. Aaron Asadi

    There are few things more tragic than a man faced with his own limitations. But one of them is definitely a man writing about being faced with his own limitations.

    Here’s hoping tomorrow’s post lives up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

