Play, create, share… or don’t

Those of you with inclinations towards the world of gaming will undoubtedly have seen the “announcement” of LittleBigPlanet 2 earlier today (another thing ruined by the internet, only this time it ruined it for the internet and not for everyone else like normal). Those who haven’t seen it: it’s a game where you make other games in the game, to make a game that you can play instead of playing at making games. Or something. If I were twattier than I am I’d use the term meta-game in some way, but I’m not, so I won’t.

Anyway, it got me thinking again about the first LittleBigPlanet, about other games that have been popping up seemingly determined to make us create half of the content for us to get any enjoyment out of them. It’s not something I want to rant about, oddly, it’s just something I kind of lament. I don’t see the designers of the likes of LBP 2 or ModNation Racers or whatever else as lazy, or cynical. I just see them as bringing out a product that really isn’t for me.

It may shock you to learn this, what with the derivative nonsense I tend to come out with here, but I’m not the most creative of people. I can string words together, but bar that indie game of which I’ve forgotten the name of (something about sleep) there doesn’t seem to be much in the way of creative games that involve writing. Maybe the Neverwinter Nights mod tools, but they also involve making levels and a game to go with it. Anyway, these are games that aren’t for me, and this makes me sad. I feel left out of the one thing I’m actually really into, quite good at and passionate about.

So please, Mr LittleBigPlanet et al: stop ruining it for Ian.

This lost its train of thought at the end of the third par, as background music confused my tiny mind. Apologies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

