Free (stuff) to complain

It’s odd, this whole thing of having this job what I do indeed have right here. I get to travel around the world to be shown new games, to play them before anyone else in the world and to talk to the people who make them about what they’re making. I like games quite a lot. It’s win-win, right? The jealous reactions from people show me that it’s a coveted position to be in, if not financially – but for sheer satisfaction it’s hard to beat. Right? Well, yes. I’d be stupid to deny that.

But the simple act of going to London for a day to talk to a few people and see a few games is surprisingly knackering. It’s a logistical nightmare for the PRs to sort out, but that doesn’t mean it’s much easier on us (boo hoo, etc). Going to the US and Canada a couple of months ago was shattering – I don’t remember what I did most of the time and I know I spent about 80 per cent of my time there feeling rough as hell. But it’s all part of the experience, innit.

It’s one of those things where when you’re doing it you may well be tired and not feeling up for talking to another bloke about something you’ve never heard of. But even during that, you – well, I, at least – never feel like you/I don’t want to do it. Then there’s the benefit of hindsight, which kicks in (shockingly) once it’s all said and done. That’s when you realise you just had a luxury – albeit short – trip to two countries you didn’t think you’d be able to afford to go to. It’s when you realise you’ve had a good natter about a game from a series you really enjoy with one of the blokes who’s making it. And it’s when you remember you didn’t pay a penny for any of that beer.

So bollocks to the whining – I’m still going to do it, but it’s hollow. It pales into insignificance when you think about how fucking good I’ve got it right now. That is, as long as we ignore my money situation…

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

