The Penman’s Creed

This is my pen. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My pen is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. My pen, without me, is useless. Without my pen, I am useless. I must wield my pen true. I must write neater than my enemy who is trying to out-write me. I must write more interestingly and intelligently than he does. I will…

My pen and myself know that what counts in this war is not the paper we use, the noise of our nib scratching on the pad, nor the hand-ache we get. We know that it is the words that count. We will use many words…

My pen is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weaknesses, its strength, its parts, its accessories, its pocket clip and its twisty top. I will ever guard it against the ravages of weather and damage as I will ever guard my legs, my arms, my eyes and my heart against damage. I will keep my pen clean, ready and full of ink. We will become part of each other. We will…

Before God, I swear this creed. My pen and myself are the defenders of my country. We are the masters of our enemy. We are the saviors of my life. So be it, until victory is Ian’s and there is no enemy, but peace!

(With apologies to Major General William H. Rupertus)

3 Comments

Filed under Prattle

3 responses to “The Penman’s Creed

  1. Ben

    I bought you that.

    I’m ace.

  2. Ben

    I’ll weed you out in a minute.

    I do read them, I am just mainly motivated by my ever burgeoning ego, hence the comment.

Leave a Reply

