Why I don’t need an iPad (formerly: “Why I love my NC10”)

Put simply, my purchase of a Samsung NC10 a few months ago may well rank as one of – if not the – best purchases I’ve ever made. For those unaware – and who actually care – it’s a tiny laptop, 10.1” screen, Windows blah blah blah. Basically it weighs nothing, is small and can play lots of games/serve as something I can do work on/play movies/look at por… the internet. It was purchased on a whim and has turned out to be one of the better things I’ve bought. Way better than the ‘used three times’ protective bag I bought for my big laptop or the ‘really a bit too big’ massive dictionary I bought on a whim.

Aside from its wonderful functionality, the fact that I can write, watch movies or play games like Syndicate, Planescape Torment, KOTOR and other such treats on the train is one thing, but the fact it only cost me £160 is something that makes me exceedingly happy, as that turns it from a sensible purchase into an out-and-out bargain.

Did I mention it’s really tiny? It is. Even a child could carry it, though I wouldn’t trust them to not drop it, the little bastards.

The purchase of the NC10 has meant my PSP has had most of its usefulness trumped, this much I have to admit, as I now have ten inches to play with on the train rather than the four I had to struggle with for so long. A sad, but necessary evolution in my journeying.

(I should point out that if there isn’t a plug socket around I tend to be boned, as the battery runs out in 3-4 hours. BALANCED REPORTING!)

I could very easily turn this into some bold claims of how I don’t feel the need to shout from the rooftops about my magical portable electronic beast, or try and substitute it for my penis, or even to rant about how it’s an investment of functionality over being a lifestyle choice like it would be if it were an iPad. But I won’t. Because for one, that would be slightly hypocritical as – however unglamorous it is – this post is still about how ace I am for having an NC10. And two, I just can’t be bothered. I really don’t care that much.

Anyway, long train journey next week – must make plans of what games to put on it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

