Use the internet? YOU ARE WELL SAD

I can’t remember how this came about, which removes some of the Fun Discovery Factor from this entry, but the sentence was languishing in my drafts, waiting to be written up. “People my age/younger still have that “cool” thing about not being able to use the internets. MORONS,” it said. And it is very true.

I have mentioned the whole ‘not had the internet all my life’ thing before, and as a result of that people of my age are in a situation where they got into the whole web thing later. Later even than I. Or some haven’t even got into it properly, for whatever reason – I don’t judge, nor do I demand people use the nets all the time.

What I cannot get on board with is the morons who will snort derisively at the fact you use the internet for more than an hour a day, and for more than just football/celebrity news (though they are now interchangeable. SATIRE). You use the internet? HAH SADDO WHAT A NERDY LOSER.

Now I’ll admit I’m not the most social of butterflies, and will gladly sit indoors on a sunny day perusing amusing videos of cats falling off things, so I am a SADDO NERDY LOSER. But these unnamed people who I cannot provide an example of right now (but who do exist) seem to believe that any use of any computer for an extended period is tantamount to getting Captain Kirk’s face tattooed on your face in order to make you look like Captain Kirk.

I’d pity them for not realising the internet is a wonderful tool – or at least can be. You can learn, find lost memories from your past, connect with those you haven’t spoken to in years, look at pictures of bare ladies and watch videos of more cats falling off more things. To make a character judgement based on such a thing as the use of an incredibly widely-used infrastructure of information (and cat videos) is… stupid. Basically.

Ohhhh, I’ve just remembered who these people were: ones from my home town. That explains a lot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

