City Link are worse than super-cancer-AIDS

I’d written a fun little blog earlier today about the trials and tribulations of sitting in all day, waiting for a package to arrive. It was whimsical, humorous and finished with said package arriving. If I’d have remembered while writing that it was City Link delivering the package, I would not have bothered writing that pre-emptive blog.

No, City Link is a stain on humanity; a company that fails to do the one thing they actually set out to do. And when they fail to do that thing – “that thing” being delivering things – they make it as hard as possible to get them to re-do it, and re-do it right.

Amazon unexpectedly sent the new TV I ordered out early, as well as via next day delivery. What this meant was it was going to arrive when I wasn’t in, and would then be taken back to a depot I couldn’t get to very easily to wait for me to collect it. Did I mention it’s a TV? A fucking big one?

As such, I begged a little to be allowed to stay at home and wait for the package, and was allowed. Unfortunately this is still unauthorised absence and it doesn’t exactly reflect well on me. Taking a day off at short notice because your house has exploded/dad has set on fire: fine. Doing the same because you’re getting a telly delivered: not so fine.

The City Link delivery status was updated at 10:23pm last night saying the package had been collected and was on its way to my local depot. It was an eight hour drive from the collection to delivery depots, and they had all night to do it in. They then had ten whole cocking hours – from 7:30am to 5:30pm – to get the telly from the Bournemouth depot to my house. My house is a 15 minute drive from the depot, apparently.

Obviously by 5pm it hadn’t turned up and the status still hadn’t been updated from 10:23pm last night. So I gave them a ring (via No To 0870, of course).

“No, you’re not going to get that today.”

“For fu… why wasn’t I told?”

“It hasn’t been scanned here yet. We’ll deliver it tomorrow.”

“I’m not in tomorrow. Can I have it delivered Friday afternoon?”

“We don’t do afternoon deliveries.”

“I’m not in in the morning, you don’t guarantee delivery times, I need it in the afternoon. Sigh. Can you deliver it on Saturday then?”

“Umm… that’s an extra charge.”

“I’ve taken a day off work to sit refreshing a web page it turns out was lying to me all day. You’ve not provided a service you’re supposed to provide. AND I’ve been on hold for about half an hour.”

“I… umm…”

“I would like it delivered on Saturday. If you could, that would be GREAT.”

“I’ll put a note on your account to arrange Saturday delivery.”

“There we go.”

“If anything goes wrong, I’ll ring you. Bye.”

Why does that last line fill me with dread? He agreed to my demands a little too easily, then gave himself the easy get-out clause of ‘if anything goes wrong’. I don’t expect the TV to be delivered on Saturday.

City Link have messed up, as far as I remember, every single time I’ve had something delivered from them*. No other delivery company springs to mind when I think of inept, pointless companies that need to be burned. And Amazon needs to stop using them.

*Oddly, apart from the dozen or so times I’ve ordered from thedrinkshop.com. They never failed to get it right then. COLOUR ME CONFUSED. Maybe they only get booze orders right.

(NOTE: Searching ‘city link’ on Google image search is quite funny, as it returns lots of images of big-name footballers. Obviously ones linked to Man City. END NOTE.)

4 Comments

Filed under Prattle

4 responses to “City Link are worse than super-cancer-AIDS

  1. Anna

    Strongly-worded cunty letter to City Link and Amazon, stat.

  2. Jen

    Yeah I wouldn’t expect it to arrive on Saturday :/ That last line from him was far too suspect.

    Get complaining to both Amazon and CityLink.

  3. Pingback: Blog a Day 237of365: A day off | Halycopter

  4. Gavin

    i run a computer repair and custom pc building company and sadly, my supplier uses citylink, i have had 2 deliveries this week (well one has arrived).

    My supplier is in manchester and the first order, i ordered at 11am friday morning. Because it was new years eve, citylink decided to pick up the parcels from my suppliers warehouse 4 hours before the normal time without any notice, and the warehouse hadn’t got all orders ready because they thought they had 4 more hours. So my parcel was not picked up by citylink until 13:00 on the tuesday morning (bank holidays inbetween because of new year). I paid for next day delivery, so you would think it would get to me wednesday?….. oh no, it got to the collection depot on the tuesday, but didnt get to the delivery depot until thursday morning, then i finally got my item thursday. Not happy because customer waiting for their new pc. I had to order more items yesterday and yep they used citylink again, paid next day, waiting for items to come today, tracking says its somewhere between collection and delivery depots, so not receiving that today either. Tried phoning citylink, no luck, and emailing, no reply. Funny thing is, i need a courier to send my items out to all of the UK, guess who i want be asking to do it?.

    Oh theres a better picture to use on this facebook page… oh and like it too if you hate citylink!.

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Citylink-could-not-deliver-a-pizza-let-alone-my-parcel-on-time/178989622122739

Leave a Reply

