Ghosts of internet past

I was doing some thinking earlier, so I had a sit down and a sandwich. Made me feel right as rain. Anyway, during that particular thought-blast I considered some of the websites I used to visit during my history of the internet. And the results were… well, they actually weren’t surprising at all, to be honest. I’m still going to talk about them, anyway.

One of the first favourites that sprang to mind was one that myself and friends would waste – literally – hours on. It was, for those unaware, a little ditty called Hot Or Not, and saw visitors to the site ranking people on looks alone, from one to ten. Hot, or not. It was also bizarrely addictive, with the added bonus of being able to put your own pictures on to see how you were rated. Obviously the novelty wore off, probably around the same time Ben got a higher rating than me. Coincidence? Nope.

Pre-all that though were the chat rooms on Yahoo, for one very good reason: they had voice chat. This meant I and a friend or two could go on and wind up Americans by actually talking to them. I still remember some guy threatening us with the whole of America coming over to kick our ass, which I took literally.

Myspace. Obviously. It became horribly overrun with constant spam and shit off shitty bands I don’t give two squirts of piss about. Though I am still on there, as I checked the other day. This reminded me of another site that fell by the wayside: Friendster. I rooted out my old profile (here!) and… well, as I’ve said before on the blog, I really haven’t changed for five-plus years. Sigh.

This all carried on with other sites and whatever falling by the wayside, with the most recent of these being Rllmuk Forum. I have no idea why I visited that site once a day, every day, for years. It’s full of the most hateful, petty and altogether shit internet-dwellers I have ever had to experience. I will still visit every now and then, but only to look at the trades, see if there’s anything good on offer.

What about you? Any ghosts more interesting or embarrassing than mine?

EDIT: I completely forgot about Punktastic. Spent an inordinate amount of time there for a number of years, before completely cutting the place off. And that was for politic-y reasons, so it’s almost interesting. Except it isn’t. I was a mod there and everything. Bless.

6 Comments

Filed under Prattle

6 responses to “Ghosts of internet past

  1. richmcc

    Mine is the same as yours that you didn’t mention.

  2. Gem

    How could you forget the site that was pretty much the reason you moved to Leeds?! Pffft. It was brilliant in its hey day. Other sites I spent ages on: a Greenday chat room back in ’99/00 (for shame); Hallam rock soc message board for hours and hours, friendster, la spazz and who could forget LIVEJOURNAL? Stuff of nightmares.

  3. And

    Hateful, petty & shit. Me to a tee. You too.

  4. Ben Morrison

    Haha, hot or not. I won that round. Boom.

  5. Luckily I decided at an early age that having photo evidence of your existence on the internet is bad m’kay?

    Unfortunately for these Quake-playing souls, they didn’t:
    http://easyweb.easynet.co.uk/~nomad/nftf/whoswho/

Leave a Reply

