Three new things on a Saturday

I am 27 years old, and I experienced three food/drink items for the first time today. This is quite a strange thing. It’s also completely Anna’s fault, with her “let’s not just eat chips and pies with beer today” nonsense she (sometimes) spouts. Still, here’s my official verdict on them all (7/10).

First up I had a fig. Yes, a fig. I’ve had fig biscuits before, but I’ve never actually eaten the fruit. My word it was a taste sensation, blowing my mind as much as it upset me that I’ve never had one before. Well, that’s a complete lie. It tasted of very little, didn’t make me crave figgy pudding and just made me crave another Clementine. As Clementines are the fruit of the GODS. When they were wrapped in ham it was worse, by the way.

Then I had a bit of camembert cheese, which is something I – as I may have pointed out already – have never had before. It tasted like cheese I didn’t really like, probably because it was cheese I didn’t really like. Not horrible, but a bit too much like something I didn’t like to be something I liked.

Finally I took part in the life-changing experience that is a coke float – Coca Cola with a dollop of vanilla ice cream in it. It tasted like Coca Cola with a dollop of vanilla ice cream in it. In other words: “a bit wrong”. At least it didn’t taste like cheese I didn’t really like.

So I think it’s safe to say that I am the kind of person willing to try new things, but I’m also the kind of person willing to dislike all the things I said I’d dislike before. I am therefore not open-minded, or something. Soz. I want pie and chips now, please.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

