Alliance & Leicester are great. When you need to cancel.

I may have made my feelings on the bank known as Alliance and Leicester known on this blog earlier in the year. Mainly because they were shit, awful and insanely annoying when I wanted them to be good and work well for me. I switched accounts with the express intention of actually changing accounts, as they offered a couple of reasonable rates and blah de blah.

It ended up with me closing the account in little over three months, and it was all their fault. But I’m not actually here to complain about an insanely boring topic. I’m actually going to praise the bank. In an insanely boring topic.

See, I had enough of A&L’s online service being utterly shit, as well as their seemingly random decision when it came to money transfers. “Today we will be… INSTANT!” “But today we will be… SLOW!” Arseholes. It was a genuine inconvenience, so after making sure all bills/direct debits etc were no longer anything to do with that account, I phoned up to cancel.

Take into account I have never had a call with them lasting less than 20 minutes. I wasn’t looking forward to having to make excuses for a decision which is entirely mine.

But I was put through in about 30 seconds, and the bloke didn’t even ask why when I said I wanted to cancel. He put it through, told me I’d be getting my info in the coming week and that the account would be closed after seven days. The easiest and best service I’ve ever had from a bank, and it came at the time when I was cancelling the account. Le sigh.

1 Comment

Filed under Prattle

One response to “Alliance & Leicester are great. When you need to cancel.

  1. That’s like having the best shag ever with someone you’re about to dump. Only much more boring.

Leave a Reply

