300th entry spectacular, or something

Seeing as I’m now up to 300 entries, it’s getting harder for me to (bother) pick(ing) out individual, stand-out (“less shit”) chunks of text that have come from my brain to your screen. Also I’m really tired. As such, I’m not just going to list entries from the past and coo over how wonderful I was in them. Instead I’m going to freestyle. Wax lyrical. Shoot shit. Talk bollocks.

When I began this endeavour around a week into January this year, I honestly thought I’d manage a week – two weeks tops – before either forgetting entirely or deciding I just couldn’t be bothered. You can see on the right hand side here where it says “it will inevitably fail”. This wasn’t my usual overly-pessimistic ways shining through – it was just fact, as far as I could see it.

But here we are, 10 months later and not much wiser, still going strong(ish) and only really repeating myself once. The other day when I wrote a blog, realised I’d done something very similar before then couldn’t be bothered changing it, in case you were wondering. I’m going to dare to have some positivity here for once: I am impressed with myself for keeping it up (bwaay!) so long (bwaaaaaaay!).

I am exceptionally lazy. I cannot be bothered doing the simplest of things – instead much more likely to take the easiest of options. Namely, to sit in my pants playing games. The fact that I have bothered to write something almost every day actually impresses me. At the same time, it does tend to dominate my mind at times, and my once-boisterous nature about the whole thing has been ratcheted down a few notches. I know life gets in the way of such frivolities as this. Fortunately I don’t have a life, so it’s been dangerously close to being easy for me to keep this going.

You never know, I might decide I like doing things like “going outside” or “talking to real people” in the coming 65 days, and that might kill off my chances of finishing with a flourish. But right now, I doubt it. One a day isn’t just something I do now – it’s habit. I have a genuine feeling in my gut that bubbles up whenever I haven’t completed the day’s entry, and I get genuine pleasure from finishing my wall of a few hundred words – even if it’s a bag of shite. Like this.

Only 65 to go. Bring it on. Will I continue when the year is up? Who knows. I’d bet on no, though. Also this is actually my 301st entry. I just forgot to do it yesterday.

5 Comments

Filed under Prattle

5 responses to “300th entry spectacular, or something

  1. angryjedi

    Congrats! The end is in sight. I enjoy your posts a lot, dude, and I hope you make it triumphantly to the end.

  2. richmcc

    Genuinely fucking impressive. Well done, innit.

  3. Gem

    Good work, fella. Do keep it up, I enjoy it.

  4. Kat

    I feel like a proud parent. “Keep up the good work, son” – LOLZ. But seriously, genuinely well done for being bothered to do this every day. You will be able to write it in your CV in 65 days xxx

  5. mum

    And I am an extremely proud parent……….

Leave a Reply

