It’s hard to find the right words

Dear LOVEFiLM,

I am writing in response to your letter dated… well, not dated. But I got it in the mail today. It’s taken me a while to think of the words – about half an hour – but I reckon it’s about time to lay it all out there. To clear the air and set some things straight about our relationship.

Frankly, I’m getting a little tired of your revisionist views on what we were. I’m sorry, and I know it must hurt you to hear this, but we were never an item. I know you’ll find it hard to believe that I’m not going out of my way to inflict undue misery on you, but really – I’m not. The last thing I want is for this to be any harder for you than it has to be. But please understand – the truth is sometimes hard for us to accept.

We were together for less time than you seem to think. We were together for less than a year. Less than a month. LOVEFiLM, we were together for less than an hour. It may be your first relationship – that’s what it seems like to me – but I don’t think it requires you to send me a letter begging me to return to you. You can offer all the bribes you want; all the concessions and ‘favours’ you want, but it doesn’t change the fact we never really were an item. I’m sure you’re just confused. I hope this is so, and I hope one day you will come to accept that we weren’t ever anything. Especially not anything worth writing to me about.

I hope one day you will come to realise that I have not written this to hurt, embarrass or upset you in any way. While I stand by what I have said, and there is no chance for a future between us without huge changes in how you approach our relationship, I still care about your well-being. In the future, when things have died down and you have a tighter grasp of the realities as they stand, maybe we can see where we both are – maybe we can work something out.

But for now and for the foreseeable future, I don’t see us being together. That’s the long and short of it.

Take care of yourself,
Ian Dransfield

3 Comments

Filed under Prattle

3 responses to “It’s hard to find the right words

  1. Anna

    Oh, handy. You can recycle this (with a few minor edits) when you eventually dump me.

  2. Aaron

    What happened to the hilarious Marvel-Vs-Capcom-for-real entry? And is now, on the eve of it coming to PS3, really the time to worsen your relationship with LoveFilm? You’re absurd.

    • I thought the letter cleared up the fact that I never had a relationship with LOVEFiLM.

      As for the other one, it either needs more thought put into it or… well, any thought put into it. Especially as my Marvel knowledge ain’t great.

Leave a Reply

