I just want to tell you both, good luck. We’re all counting on you.

I have mentioned in the past my distinct love for Leslie Nielsen, so it wasn’t exactly the best morning today when I awoke to learn of his death. Here’s the video of that joke, seeing as I apparently didn’t link it last time. It was the funniest joke ever written before he died, and it’s still the funniest now.

Anyway, I was a little downhearted this morning – something that has only happened after a handful of celebrity deaths, as I couldn’t give two shits about most of them – when I saw this on Reddit:

Safe to say, it’s one of the funniest, warmest and most spontaneous tributes to a person I’ve ever seen. It’s made me love that site even more than I already do. Click it to make it bigger, and if you know what it’s on about then I think we’ll get along just fine.

While his output was questionable at times, there’s no denying the effect the Canadian had on my formative years. Granted, he won’t have even had a hand in writing the vast majority – if not all – of the jokes, but he’s intrinsically linked in my mind to having the body of a god under his slightly-flabby looking exterior, to the reams of deadpan one liners and to generally just being one of those people I wanted to hug. There aren’t many of those around, and it seems they’re getting less by the day.

I could go on, but there’s little else left to say. He wasn’t a legendary comedian – he was just a fucking brilliant comic actor. But if that’s all you ever were, it’s a damn good impression to leave on the world.

2 Comments

Filed under Prattle

2 responses to “I just want to tell you both, good luck. We’re all counting on you.

  1. Brian Bloodaxe

    He may not have written the films he starred in but he certainly did have a way with words. Here’s my favourite from all those I found today:

    “There’s an old saying that God exists in your search for him. I just want you to understand that I ain’t looking.”

    Seemed apropriate although it is a bit of a shame, Leslie Nielson’s heaven would be an awesome place!

  2. alison

    Rest in peace Leslie, some of the best comic acting I have ever seen was by him in the little appreciated Police Squad…….

Leave a Reply

