The mega end of year thing where I do a half-arsed “funny” list

Phew – thank Thor 2010 is over. It had outstayed its welcome truth be told, and if I’m being extra mean I would add that it had developed a bit of a stale, almost rotten smell. Something like bad beans. You know the type.

Having said all that, 2010 did have its moments. Though most of them were stupid, rubbish and pointless. Still, it had enough things that I can make a list of the best events of 2010, from a few categories I’m about to come up with off the top of my head. LIST: GO!

Best blog: Everyone who did #oneaday beyond, like, a month. Though mine is obviously, naturally the best.

Best ultimate review of the year (7/10): Obviously the official answer has to be ‘all of them’. But to make this at least a little more interesting, I’m going to throw in my personal choice: I’d have to go with ‘all of them’, as ‘all of them’ is the bestest. 7/10

Best would-be Eurovision Song Contest winner of the year: Ian Dransfield.

Game of the year: For what it attempted, what it did and the fact that it was a hell of a lot better than most fucking morons on the internet would have you believe, Heavy Rain. But for the ‘I had a shitload of fun from start to finish, though it did nothing actually new’, I’d go with Bayonetta.

Best stuff I did this year: Went to three countries I’d never been to before (and really wanted to go to anyway, and four if you’ll allow me Switzerland from Christmas 2009), didn’t get sacked, managed to be even more boring than I have ever been before, paid off a credit card and got rid of a loan, some other pointless shit.

Worst stuff I did this year: Remained 300 miles away from Anna for most of it. Nothing else comes close to being as shitty as that, even the act of killing five people. Ahem.

Stupid thing I decided to do of the year: Keep doing One A Day next year, beyond the finish date.

I am far too tired to think of anything funny or clever here, so I’m leaving it there. Hope your 2010 wasn’t as shit as it probably might have maybe been. And that 2011 is like twenty elevens, all curled up around your feet, farting gently.

3 Comments

Filed under Prattle

3 responses to “The mega end of year thing where I do a half-arsed “funny” list

  1. Samuel Roberts

    Congrats, Ian. This is probably the best thing on the Internet; if Wikipedia got you to do a personal appeal rather than Jimmy ‘Floating Head’ Wales, they’d have enough money to form their own state by now.

    • I did a personal appeal a while back. Unfortunately the £1,000 minimum donation must have put people off.

      As of now though, there’s charity involved. I’ll mention that in an upcoming post, once my first 365 posts are done.

  2. Well done dude! Very proud of you, hope I can go the distance in 2011.

    Happy new face! I mean, year. Easy mistake.

Leave a Reply

