No, but you really should watch The Wire

I fear I won’t be allowed to actually write about this topic, as I will be instantly dismissed by whining little maggots for talking about something that is talked about a fair bit in certain circles. But hey – here’s me trying really hard to care. Trying… trrrrrying… oh, no. I don’t care. I like The Wire and think it is one of the best things I have ever seen – if not the best.

Shock! It’s an opinion more than one person has. Shock! This doesn’t mean it’s invalid. Actually, come to think of it, I do hate it when a lot of people share an opinion. Makes me feel wrong inside. Bastards. I know there are people out there who will dismiss The Wire or anybody talking about it purely because it’s been analysed so very much all over the internets (and in the Grauniad) – to you people, just Read the quote below. If that doesn’t change your mind then there’s probably no hope for you anyway.

Ah, arrogance.

Anyway, I had a point, but that’s been lost in the above ramblings. The Wire is a show about Baltimore police doing policey things, created by an ex-journalist and with input from an ex-copper, both of whom know the area well. Safe to say, it’s brilliant. Like, talk about for hours with people who’ve seen it brilliant. Not eminently quotable, not something that can be dipped into at all and not something you can half watch, but utterly fantastic.

But that’s just me (and all the Grauniad writers seemingly hired just to mention it in every article they write: “Tensions rose in the Middle East after border skirmishes between two nations, just like the time when Bodie refused to give up his corner to Marlo’s crew…”), and I fear that without the ability to see how much my hands can flail while I talk or hear how high-pitched and enthusiastic I can sound (sometimes) this will fall on deaf ears. So read this quote, something I read just the other day from series creator David Simon. Read it, take it in and realise you do want to watch the show:

My standard for verisimilitude is simple and I came to it when I started to write prose narrative: fuck the average reader. I was always told to write for the average reader in my newspaper life. The average reader, as they meant it, was some suburban white subscriber with two-point-whatever kids and three-point-whatever cars and a dog and a cat and lawn furniture. He knows nothing and he needs everything explained to him right away, so that exposition becomes this incredible, story-killing burden. Fuck him.”

Because it really is that good.

3 Comments

Filed under Prattle

3 responses to “No, but you really should watch The Wire

  1. That David Simon quote is great and I totally agree.
    Tv series’ and films cater to much for the average person which means they spend far too long prattling about explaining simplistic narrative to those who still find it hard to do up their shoelaces.

    Good prattle!

  2. Andrew Rafter

    Sheeeeeeeeeet – couldn’t agree with you more – one of the most underrated shows ever – also try The Shield.

Leave a Reply

