I AM PROCRASTINATING LOL

What’s happened to the word ‘procrastination’? See, I remember a time many years ago when people would say it every chance they got, even if they misunderstood its meaning. Or couldn’t spell it. Or were dickheads. It was the magical time of MySpace, and every other update from someone seemed to mention “I AM PROCRASTINATING LOL” or something along those utterly moronic lines.

Now I don’t see it. Does this mean people have stopped procrastinating? Or is it because one of the main outlets for your inane shite, Twitter, has a character limit – thus making longer words out of bounds? I think we will never know. Unless we ask every single person in the world. Bagsy not doing that – got a bad leg.

Facebook? Well nobody wants to use the word on there because it will make them look like one of two things, depending on what kind of follower sees it. If it’s an old school friend or extended family member, they will think the person writing it is a show-off geek dweeboid from the planet Nerdlinger IV, because only show-off geek dweeboids from the planet Nerdlinger IV use words like ‘procrastinate’. The common plebeian* just can’t handle it.

The other group – people who know, or possibly like the person, will simply think they’re being a prick. It’s a vicious circle. Or cycle. Or square. Or something. I don’t know.

So let’s raise a toast to the forgotten word of the social media landscape: we won’t miss you, procrastinating, because people who used you were generally twatends anyway.

*Can’t spell ‘plebeian’ without Ian!

2 Comments

Filed under Prattle

2 responses to “I AM PROCRASTINATING LOL

  1. pete485

    I think I still manage a bit of procrastination, as well as mentioning it.

  2. Hah, brilliant post. I too remember the days of people doing MULTIPROCRASTINATIONISMSOMGLOL when they were meant to be doing stuff for uni. I have a theory as to why I don’t see this as much. I simply deleted any friends who had enough free time on their hands to say that they were procrastinating. Bloody student bastards.

    See also: ‘I’m bored’.

Leave a Reply

