Blocked

It today took me about five hours to write less than 1,000 words. The time it took me to complete what would normally be an extremely simple task should not be used as an indication of increased quality. Mainly because what it actually means in this case is that it’s a Big Pile Of Shit. Maybe.

Actually, it’s probably alright. Just a war of attrition with words. But the fact that happens every now and then makes me question my ability. Again. As always. Surely if I’m a consummate pro who gets complimented by people for “being able” to write I should be able to do this, whenever I want, all the time?

I know it’s completely irrational. Nobody’s on form all the time. But shut up, because you’re not in my brain and I am and I feel like being a bit like whining a bit. Again. As always.

And seeing as I now can’t think of anything else to write, and seeing as the entire topic of this blog isn’t actually a topic worth writing about, I think I’m going to leave it at that and go to bed. Hopefully my brain will work again tomorrow. I genuinely have no idea what could have caused my brain to cease functioning this weekend.

No siree. No idea at all.

1 Comment

Filed under Prattle

One response to “Blocked

  1. Writer’s block is horrible. I don’t get it often but when I do it makes me feel really weird, panicky even. It’s unheard of for me to go a day without writing at least one thing at length and when it’s against a deadline and you just can’t make the words flow like they normally do. It’s horrid.

    But then when you get over it and through it, it’s a wonderful relief to find that your brain hasn’t gone soft and you can actually write as easily as before. Probably just another of the body’s amazing/mental ways of telling you to take a break.

Leave a Reply

