Hayfever: it’s a diseeeeease

I knew it was coming, but I still feared it: the beginning of the end for me and those like me. The next few months will be tough – potentially fatal, for some. Definitely annoying for everyone. Probably annoying for those who aren’t suffering, too. Less fatal for them, though. Yes folks: it’s hayfever season.

One sneeze here, one sneeze there. The sniffles for a bit. It all starts out so innocently, and it always starts out the same. I’ve been a carrier of the disease for as long as I can remember and it never ceases to amaze me how insanely annoying it is.

Recently, though, it’s not ceased to amaze how hayfever is actually a bit worse than just a mild discomfort – it’s genuinely debilitating at times. Imagine feeling like you have a headcold for three months, bunged up and groggy. Imagine not being able to go outside for fear – genuine fear – that it’ll fuck you up for the rest of the day. Imagine having to wipe your nose non-stop for days, weeks, months on end.

Alright, it’s not cancer, MS or a stubbed toe. I’m well aware of how it stacks up to the big boys. But I think it should be recognised that when I suffer from hayfever, I suffer from hayfever. So spare a thought inbetween laughing at me when I’ve just sneezed 42 times in a row*, my eyes are bright red, my brain doesn’t function and I actually can’t be bothered being alive at that point.

No, I’m not overreacting.

*This has actually happened. The sneezing, not the thought-sparing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

