Work to do? Okay, I’ll spend all day doing NOTHING OF THE SORT, then.

I have just spent half an hour setting up my speakers so the sound from my telly-vee comes out through them. I have been meaning to do this for a while, as clearly I am such an audiophile it had to be done. HAD TO BE.

Obviously I’ve opted for the best connection, which is plugging an amp into the headphone socket on the TV. No better sound than that, right? RIGHT? Ahem.

Anyway, like I say, this needed to be done and I’ve intended to do it for a while. Saaaay, about two years now? I’ve just forgotten about it or not bothered for an age. So what’s pushed me over the edge and made me take the plunge into a world of even more wires cluttering up my already cluttered floor?

Work, obviously. I have a sizeable feature to finish off today, so naturally I’ve opted to do other things that really need doing. Like said speaker thing. I’m probably going to do the washing up in a mo. Then have a shower that lasts about an hour. Then rearrange the speakers. Then tidy up a bit.

Then put some washing on.

Then rearrange my towels.

Then stare in the mirror for 30 minutes wondering what went wrong.

Then eat an apple.

Then read some old correspondence or look at old photos and get nostalgic.

Then realise it’s half nine and there’s still a feature to finish off, then stay up til 4am actually doing it.

Then make this blog go on for longer than it really should.

Still, at least my totally super-rad sound system is now hooked up. Had this badboy forever now.

1 Comment

Filed under Prattle

One response to “Work to do? Okay, I’ll spend all day doing NOTHING OF THE SORT, then.

  1. It’s totally true that whenever I have a task to do, I think of another 10 things that also need doing and in my head are way more important. Once I, quite simply, just had to do the dishes, but I found that surfing some blogs, looking at old photos on facebook, catching an episode of The Simpsons that I hadn’t seen in a week, and even cleaning my room, was more important. Another time I had to clean my room, and decided that doing the dishes was a better choice. Take my approach to these mundane activities and just imagine what I was like in university where things actually mattered! I don’t think I ever finished an assignment before 3am the morning it was due. And if anything, I see it as an achievement that I still managed to graduate with a decent degree!
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

