WARNING: this blog contains this warning. Readers of a sensitive disposition should bugger off.

I made myself so annoyed while writing this that the structure is all over the place. YEAH FOR FLOW. Not that I care about these things…

I dislike some things – I know it’s hard to believe, but I do. But there are only a few select things out there that instantly make my blood boil. That get me furious. Last night, watching South Park on channel Viva at about 11.30pm, I was made insta-furious.

“Warning: the following show contains adult humour and may offend some viewers.”

You know what I find offensive? The fact that you have to point out I might be about to be offended, in order to cover your own backs when it comes to people making complaints. We’ll ignore the argument it might be done intentionally to give the show more of an edge than it actually has (Viva isn’t exactly a channel made for 27-year-olds).

As I’m sure you’re all aware, this pops up all over the place on any and every channel. Warnings of flashing lights and strobe effects I can understand – you don’t want everyone with epilepsy having a fit while watching a documentary on… umm… strobe lights.

But for you to deign something as ‘possibly offensive’ and so requiring a warning is actually more offensive than the material itself.

“Oh, there’s a joke in it that isn’t about how funny it is that people sometimes walk differently or that while people are fundamentally similar there are irrelevant little differences to highlight, point out and laugh about? I AM OFFENDED.”

Get over yourself. I’m not saying there are no times to be offended by things, though there are far less times to be offended at comedy then there are anything else, but you and you alone are not the sole arbiter of taste for the whole country. Fucking nanny state bullshit.

This is without even getting into being warned about swearing on a post-watershed show. I yearn for the day logic and good sense makes a comeback (he says as if it ever existed). Maybe we could import some from better countries, like anywhere on the continent or the rest of the world, including places like Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and even – at a push – Switzerland. Ahem.

I can’t even completely blame TV people for this. They wouldn’t feel the need to put these warnings on if terrible wastes of skin didn’t exist who seem to make it their life’s work to bitch, moan and write letters including bitchy moaning.

“Dear Sir, I was offended…” well I wasn’t, so shut the fuck up and watch something else.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

