Drink H20 before writing a Five Year Plan in order to Set Your Goals

I’ve had Five Year Plan by H20 stuck in my head recently (don’t look it up – you won’t like it), which has been making me think about those stupid one/five/ten-year plans some idiots make you make. I remember having to make one in school which – I think – ended up with talk of attaching shotguns to the legs of a cheetah.

Though that may well have been a biology presentation I did about natural selection. In fact, it definitely was – highlighting how if a cheetah had shotty-legs it would be far more dominant on the savannah.

Anyway, I also did one in some back to work thing I did after being unemployed (“lazy”) for ages. I think my main goal I decided on wasn’t to get a job, a house, settle down or any of that – it was to get a dog. I was told off for not taking it seriously. I was being dead serious. Think I passed that particular milestone without completing the task. Bollocks.

But I don’t think I could really make a five-year plan right now. I suppose that’s part of the point of it – making you think about where you are and where you want to be, rather than allowing yourself to simply drift along like normal.

But I really don’t know. I like my job, so being in it in five years probably wouldn’t be that bad. But will magazines exist by that time? Will I still be in Bourney-M? I don’t like sticking around in one place too long, but it’s not like I’m looking to run off anywhere. Will I be fired for gross incompetawesomeness? Probably. Then what would I do? No idea.

See, this is why I couldn’t do one right now. I have no idea about anything. I wanted to be a games journalist when I was growing up. I am one now. I wanted to write a kids story. I did (I never said I wanted it published or to be a success so SHUT YOUR TRAP). Do I want to write a book? I don’t know. Comedy? Something like that. Maybe. Learn how to actually manage my ambitions and figure out what I want to do in the next five years? WHO KNOWS.

Which brings me to another band: Set Your Goals (don’t look them up – you won’t like them).

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

