Tony Hawk stole my youth

I put on a game I have to review today and, on seeing its intro, was instantly reminded of how brilliant a time I had in Tokyo a couple of months ago. Corruption? Where? But yeah – the simplest of things conjuring up these vivid memories.

Canned, cold coffee (ohmygod it’s so delicious), confusing streets, me realising just how picky an eater I am, nasal girls dressed up  like six-year-olds trying to lure you down alleyways, Hell Boat, me turning down even more food, karaoke, secret smoking areas we walked for four miles (may be an exaggeration) to find, Akihabara being fucking weird – great times. All brought about from a game. Weird.

But it’s nothing compared to Tony Hawk’s. Reading something about it earlier today made me regress to my childhood/youthdom, and I’m still rolling through those formative years in my head right now

That game, along with Pro Evo (and to a lesser extent the Smackdown series), pretty much holds dominion over my youth. Countless days spent playing it with mates, sessions going through the whole night, hilarious new words invented for HORSE, the entire soundtrack being downloaded (very, very slowly on Napster) – it was the background to my adolescence.

And I was never actually that good at it.

It’s no surprise the songs from the first two games are littered about my iPod, picked up independently of each other over the years. They stick with you and they remind you of the game, and the game reminds you of Them Times Everyone Loves. I’m a better person now; I’m less awkward and more comfortable in who I am and what I can and can’t do. But that doesn’t stop part of me from missing Them Times Everyone Loves.

I would need to get better at the game, though.

1 Comment

Filed under Prattle

One response to “Tony Hawk stole my youth

  1. LIGHTS OUT. GUERILLA RADIO. TURN THAT SHIT UP.

Leave a Reply

