Viacom in ‘encouraging piracy’ shocker

I realised I hadn’t purchased the most recent available series of South Park as I have done with every series released so far. I own numbers one through thirteen on DVD and Blu-ray, all purchased pretty much at full price on or around the time of release. My lack of purchase this time around was a result of forgetfulness, rather than any fatigue with the series – I still love it dearly and rate it higher than many, many other shows out there.

Turns out it’s a good thing I forgot, as if I’d bought it on release I wouldn’t have known that two whole episodes – numbers 200 and 201 – had been excised from the collection. Turns out a few legal threats concerning Tom Cruise being alluded to as gay (he is literally shown working in a fudge factory, putting the product into boxes) and a few insane threats from a couple of idiots saying they’re going to blow up everyone for making a TV show that takes the piss out of everything means two great episodes have to be pulled.

But wait! The US version still has these episodes, albeit in censored form (wouldn’t want to offend anyone hey). But…

The Blu-ray is region locked, meaning I can’t do that route. This wouldn’t annoy too much, except for the fact that I own the last two series on Blu-ray, both American versions as both were, in fact, region-free. They’ve locked this one down because of the stupid fucking issues they’ve invented with it.

I can still get the DVD, and the miracle of an all-region DVD player means it’d play fine. But… I just don’t want to. It’s like Viacom has gone out of its way to put me off; to make me not want to bother buying it. The rest of the word isn’t mature or capable enough to handle the full series, apparently, and the US market is only capable of handling cut episodes.

You know what? The terrorists have won. As has The Pirate Bay, actually. Because this is all just an argument for me to illegally download the series instead. At least then I’ll get all of the episodes in high definition. Plus I won’t have to sit through those shitty anti-piracy adverts (that you can’t skip).

Well done, business. You’ve cut off your nose to spite your face while at the same time shooting yourself in the foot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prattle

Leave a Reply

